Events

“I raise up my voice—not so I can shout, but so that those without a voice can be heard…we cannot succeed when half of us are held back.”

―Malala Yousafzai

Upcoming Events

Saturday, November 23, 2019: “Someday: Social Impact from Malala to Motown” Fall Benefit Concert for DWC, 7:00 PM at St. John’s – St. Luke’s Evangelical United Church of Christ (2120 Russell St, Detroit)

Early bird tickets are $30 for adults and $5 for youth under 18 until November 15. Regular tickets purchased after November 15 or at the door are $50 for adults and $10 for youth under 18.

See a Chorus member for tickets, or buy them online here!

Saturday, February 8, 2020: Third Annual “Finding Your Voice” Women’s Empowerment Conference, 9:00 am to 4:30 pm

Saturday, May 9, 2020: Spring Concert, 3:00 pm

Spring 2021: Shara Nova, Helga Davis, the Detroit Women’s Chorus, and the Cass Technical High School Harp and Vocal Ensemble will premiere Shara Nova’s “Body Vessel” at the Detroit Institute of Arts Friday, April 23, 2021.

Body Vessel.png

Past Events 2019

Saturday, February 16, 2019: “Ain’t I A Woman?: Songs of Protest and Hope” Benefit Concert and Afterglow, St. John’s – St. Luke’s Church

Saturday, March 17, 2019: Women’s History Month performance with WISDOM poets at the Friends Auditorium, Detroit Public Library

Saturday, March 23, 2019: Second Annual “Finding Your Voice” Women’s Empowerment Conference, St. John’s – St. Luke’s Church

Saturday, May 4, 2019: Spring Concert and Fund Drive for Gleaners Community Food Bank. St. John’s – St. Luke’s Church

Monday, June 24, 2019: Detroit Women’s Chorus at Hugh Jackman: The Man, The Music, The Show in Detroit’s Little Caesars Arena

IMG_3401

Sunday, July 14, 2019: Detroit Women’s Chorus, Detroit Community Yoga, and Salar Ansari at the Detroit Institute of Arts Rivera Court, Concert of Colors Diversity Festival

 

Header photo credit: Bob Hardin